Day 1 of week 3 is done!  I had a couple of longer runs today but it wasn’t bad at all.  I’m really glad I have the Garmin Forerunner as I’m able to monitor the speed of my runs to try and keep them around 10 minute miles.  That really helps keep the heart rate under control which also helps me keep running for the amount of time I need to.  This weeks schedule is the following:
5 minute warmup walk
Repeat the following twice:
    90 second jog
    90 second brisk walk
    3 minute jog
    3 minute brisk walk
5 minute cooldown walk.

As the running times get longer I am going to really keep an eye on my pace so as to keep it as close to 10 minute miles as possible.  Once I’m able to run 5K’s consistently without walking I will try and get to a quicker pace but for now that’s what I’m shooting for.  Keeping to that 10 minute mile goal showed up in the stats as I have fewer miles gone and fewer calories burned.

Garmin Forerunner 305 stats for todays run:
Total workout time, including warm-up and cool-down: 28 Minutes
Average Pace: 1 mile in 12 minutes 47 seconds
Avg Speed/Max Speed: 4.7 mph/ 8.8 mph
Average Heart Rate: 147 bpm
Max Heart Rate: 182 bpm
Total Distance: 2.19 Miles
Calories Burned: 311

That’s it for todays post, I’ll be back on Wednesday to report my progress for day 2. 🙂

Blogged with the Flock Browser